a letter to Laura

October 17, 2012 § 1 Comment

When I see a fawn crossing the road.  When I see prairie dogs along the edge of the trail we run on together.  When I see birds. I think of you.  There is one bird we share.  It is our bird.  Even when it migrates for the winter, it belongs to you and me.  It belongs to us because we can see its beauty.  It belongs to us because we are friends.  Because together we wait for spring, when our bird will return home.  When our bird will return to the cottonwood tree by the lake where we run. 

While we wait for birds to return we feed goats. You carry rice cakes and I carry leaves.  We do this every morning.  We do this because you know the goats wait for us—that they enjoy what we bring for them.  That they have feelings, like we do.   We do this because of you.  Because you are kind.  We do this together. Because we are friends.   

I admire you. I admire you because you are compassionate.  I admire you because you teach people things. Because you teach me things.  I admire you because you are good.  Because you will wait by the tree with me, until our bird comes home.

§ One Response to a letter to Laura

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading a letter to Laura at more winter than feather.

meta

